Chocolate chip & fig cake and THANK YOU!

Milllet-Fig-Cake-8-1024x683

Another term has come to an end. Another  term of hard work, new amazing friends, good times and lots and lots of delicious food…

I could not be more grateful for my first term as Mohubb’s cook. The people I met, the experiences I made and the recipes I  experimented are so many and so valuable to me.

But I know that Mohubb’s is not just about food, it’s about sharing and being, so I feel like I need to thank all the people who made it such an incredible experience!

I, first of all, want to thank all the people who came down to help more or less regularly and the people who came even just once. THANK YOU without your hard work I would not have made it!!!(special thanks to P.G.) 🙂 I want to THANK all the people who came down to Mohubb’s every Thursday to eat and socialize and share their positive vibes with us! I also want to thank the staff at Multi-Faith Chaplaincy for being so supportive and understanding, you make this space feel like home to many many people! THANK YOU ALL!

I am looking forward to more cooking and chatting and listening to silly music in the new year! MOHUBB’S WILL BE BACK AT THE BEGINNING OF JANUARY! see ya all there!!!

Iman

INGREDIENTS

 

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour baking pan. Place the stewed figs into a saucepan, cover with water, and simmer on low heat for about 5 minutes. Drain and cool, reserving 1/2 cup of the liquid.
  2. Cut the figs into small cubes; set aside. In a medium bowl, combine the reserved fig liquid and butter; set aside. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and cloves; set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, mix all wet ingredients together then stir in the vanilla. Add flax egg optional).Beat in the flour mixture alternately with the  almond milk. Mix in chocolate chips. The batter needs to be soft and smooth but not too runny, to adjust add flour if too runny and milk if too thick.
  4. Pour into prepared pan.
  5. Bake in the preheated oven for 30 to 40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Cool in pan 15 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack and cool completely.
  6. decorate with ground walnuts (optional)

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

