Crazy day!

Oh yeah! … It get crazier every week! I get so excited with the meal and I use Mohubb’s kitchen as my culinary laboratory. It is great but I got a little bit overwhelmed for the fourth Mohubb’s night. I tried to do Alu Gobhi (potato and cauliflower curry), falafel (chick peas patties) and pear&apple crisp. What a day! I had the chance to have passionate helpers which I will never thank enough. It was the first time that I ran a little late, but it was worth it. 🙂

Here’s the Alu Gobhi recipe which I took from the CSU’s Campus2Kitchen 2004. (I would give you the falafel too, but I actually did not touch them at all… I only cooked the chick peas and pass the ball to one of my volunteer: the pro of chick peas!)

INGREDIENTS 

– The florets of 1 head of cauliflower (cut into small pieces)
– 3 potatoes, peeled and cut into small pieces
– 1-2 tablespoon vegetable oil
– 2-3 teaspoon whole cumin (the key ingredient!)
– 20 grams (1″-2″) piece of ginger, chopped (or grated)
-1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder (great food coloring and miraculous for your health)
– 1/4 teaspoon chili powder
– 1/4 teaspoon salt (which I personnaly never add, there’s already enough great seasoning)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Heat vegetable oil in a pan. Add whole cumin and fresh ginger. Fry until it browns (and smells!).

  2. Add potatoes, cauliflower and remaining spices. Cook until the veggies are soft (to taste). Usually served with whole wheat fried bread or rice.

For my part, I did not cut the cauliflower small enough and it took a long time to cook. But I had the good idea to preliminary cook the potatoes a little bit so that those were well cooked and the cauliflower a little crispy (which I really like). It was a good first trial of making Alu Gobhi. 

See you next week for a simple warm & healthy meal. 

Leave a Reply

