Howdy all!

It was another exciting week at Mo-Hubbs at the Multi-Faith Chaplaincy.  We  had a total of 116 people come and I didn’t run out of food (although I had to use 2 pots to serve from because the stew I made was pretty thick).

I don’t have  a specific recipe for this one, but I’ll give a list of the ingredients I used and the general process I went through so that you can try it at home.

I called it Zucchini Stew (only because they’re still around but fast going out of season):

Chopped Zucchini

Shredded Potato (I used more potato than zucchini)

Chopped Carrots

Navy Beans (pre cooked)

Buckwheat (enough to make it rather thick)

Tomatoes (chopped or juice of)

Basil (I used both fresh and dried)

Salt (be careful- I used too much on my batch)

Cumin (why not)

Cloves

Stock

Heat some water or stock in a pot (the amount depends on how much you’re making and how soupy you want it).  Add veggies and buckwheat and reduce to a simmer.  Cook for about 30 minutes or until the buckwheat is chewy and the veggies are tender.  Add the beans and spices to taste.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

